Parts of the Rosary

The Rosary consists of a crucifix, 59 beads, and a center connector piece. The beads are usually in two sizes: six large beads, called Pater beads, and 53 smaller beads, called Ave beads. The Ave beads are separated into groups of ten, referred to as decades, and separated by a larger Pater bead.